Next level in anti-spam protection

New to the board and want to practice? Do it here. Find a bug in the forum, report it here.

Moderator: Tuna Cowboy

Next level in anti-spam protection

Postby poopShotgun » Fri Jan 19, 2007 11:20 am

This is a "theoretical security document", so don't read if you find such things boring. I am not a security expert, but I have found some things work and some don't.

I have been looking at the code for Lotta Livin' forums because I am doing work for them, and found they are using a "Humanizer" question much as we are now. The problem with the mod they are using, and the fact that it does not work, boils down to one fact: It is standardized. The fact that we have a unique approach rather than a cookie-cutter solution is most likely why we have had no spam-bot registrations since I installed it (Props to self. Yes, I rawk.) while Lotta Living has contracted me to help them because their solution failed.

When I applied my approach to the "Humanizer" mod they are using, it seemed to stop the spam bots (although this has only been in effect for one night so far). But the mod they are using is far more sophisticated than the one I wrote, and I want to take the "Humanizer" mod to the next level and apply it to our forums.

The current problem with the Humanizer mod is that it generates an MD5 number for the Humanizer question's variable. This means it is highly predictable and can be bypassed by spam-bots quite easily:
Calculates the MD5 hash of str using the RSA Data Security, Inc. MD5 Message-Digest Algorithm, and returns that hash. The hash is a 32-character hexadecimal number. If the optional raw_output is set to TRUE, then the md5 digest is instead returned in raw binary format with a length of 16.